Creating bookings without a contact name
Last updated: December 13, 2023
It is possible to create bookings without providing a name. This feature can be useful if you have many last-minute or walk-up customers or would like to check them in but add their contact information later.
Note: If you are not collecting a name and/or contact information, we highly recommend checking IDs against credit cards and making sure the credit card used matches the name on the ID for an extra layer of fraud prevention. Also be aware that in cases where a dispute is filed after the activity, there will be no way to reach out to the cardholder to resolve directly. More information about methods to prevent disputes can be found here.
If you do not see this option in your Dashboard, you may not have the necessary permissions. Please contact FareHarbor Support for assistance.
Enabling skipping contact full name on your Dashboard
Follow these steps to enable this feature:
- Click Settings at the top of the Dashboard menu.
- Click the Advanced company settings (gear) icon in the top-right corner.
- Click Bookings and scroll to the Communication section.
Select the checkbox next to Allow skipping contact full name.

Required: Enter the name you want to appear when you make a booking without entering a contact name in the Default full name field. Note: You can change this name at any time, however keep in mind that previously made bookings without a contact name will not automatically be updated to reflect the new name.

- Click Save.
Next, enable the permissions that are required in order to create no-contact name bookings.
- Navigate to Users & Permissions on the side bar.
- Click Permission Groups.
- Click Edit next to the name of the permission group you want to give the ability to make bookings without entering a contact name. Note: Depending on your permission settings, you may not be able to perform this step. Please contact FareHarbor Support for assistance.
Scroll to the Communication section and select the checkbox to enable the Skip contact full name setting.

Click Save changes.
You’re done! You can now create bookings for your customers without entering their contact name.
Making a booking without entering a contact name
If you have the necessary permission to make bookings without entering a contact name, you can create a booking when all other required fields are complete:

The booking overview shows the default name you entered from step 5 in the previous section:
 icon in the top-right corner.
- Click Bookings and scroll to the Communication section.
Select the checkbox next to Allow skipping contact full name.

Required: Enter the name you want to appear when you make a booking without entering a contact name in the Default full name field. Note: You can change this name at any time, however keep in mind that previously made bookings without a contact name will not automatically be updated to reflect the new name.

- Click Save.
Next, enable the permissions that are required in order to create no-contact name bookings.
- Navigate to Users & Permissions on the side bar.
- Click Permission Groups.
- Click Edit next to the name of the permission group you want to give the ability to make bookings without entering a contact name. Note: Depending on your permission settings, you may not be able to perform this step. Please contact FareHarbor Support for assistance.
Scroll to the Communication section and select the checkbox to enable the Skip contact full name setting.

Click Save changes.
You’re done! You can now create bookings for your customers without entering their contact name.
Making a booking without entering a contact name
If you have the necessary permission to make bookings without entering a contact name, you can create a booking when all other required fields are complete:

The booking overview shows the default name you entered from step 5 in the previous section:

You can edit the contact at any time by clicking Edit contact on the overview.
Viewing no-contact name bookings on the manifests
Bookings made using the default name are displayed in the manifest accordingly:

If you update the contact name on the booking, it will be reflected in the manifest as well.
If you update the default full name in the Dashboard, previously created bookings will not be affected; only future bookings with no contact name will display the new name.
Frequently Asked Questions
I have enabled this setting, but I do not want to use it anymore. What happens to my previously created bookings with no contact name?
Any bookings made when the setting was enabled will not be affected if you disable the feature at a later time. You will see the default name you used when making the booking until you change it manually.
How can I quickly see what the default name is when I am making a booking?
If you leave the full name section blank, the name will be automatically be the default name added in the Advanced company settings (located in Settings > Advanced company settings > Bookings > Communication > Default full name).
Is it possible to enable this feature only for certain items or availabilities?
No. This is a company-wide setting, and thus will be available for all items and availabilities.
If my group permissions change, will I be able to create no-contact name bookings?
No, this permission is required in order to continue creating bookings without a contact name.
My customer has an email address or phone number in their booking, but no contact name. What name will be shown in text messages or emails that I send to them?
If you communicate with a customer whose contact name was not entered, the default name will be shown. Make sure to edit their contact information if you want to personalize the messages.
If I add a new booking (or bookings) or create an order for a no-contact name customer, will the default name used during the original booking process be shown in the new bookings?
Yes. If necessary, you can modify the contact on a single booking without affecting the others.